Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I will preface this by saying I am not a person who regularly buys original art or prints anymore. Recently, I prefer bare walls in my room. This may or may not have to do with an incident in which a poster fell on me when I was sleeping (this also may have been in Japan, possibly during an earthquake…). Because of this, it seems like such a waste for me to buy beautiful art and then just stack it away somewhere in a closet. That said, of all the great illustrators in Artist Alley, the one I really make an effort to support is Alice X. Zhang (seriously, check out her awesome work). I also like to buy from J. Scott Campbell, who is one of my top 3 favorite comic book artists.

Right before NYCC, I actually put myself on a No-Buy month but let myself go a little when I was actually at the con. Here are the handful of things I bought (in order of when I bought them).

  1. Hallmark Itty Bittys – Han Solo in Carbonite & Boba Fett ($20)
    I am obsessed with Hallmark’s Itty Bittys! Last year, the set was cute and this year was no exception! Unfortunately, I don’t think the designer came to NYCC this time. Also, I actually had to queue up to get these Itty Bittys on a Thursday (which I don’t recall having to do last year). I was in line with the people who wanted to buy the limited edition Christmas ornaments.
  2. Naruto Volume 72 – NYCC Exclusive Edition ($10)
    This is a gift for a friend who always gets me a little something from SDCC since we swap comic con stuff. I am happy to get to keep the pink Sailormoon tote I got for free with purchase. 🙂
  3. Game of Scones ($16.99 + tax)
    This Game of Thrones-inspired cookbook is a hilarious gift for my sister. Really funny but also really dark!
  4. Daily Bugle Breakfast Blend Coffee Pods ($10)
    I got this on the last day and the guy said that he ran out of the limited edition boxes and so he’d give me a discount. In actuality, the box I received was indeed one of the numbered limited edition boxes (out of 2,500). My friend bought the same item for $15 on Friday.
