Tags

, , , , , ,

DSC01054

Hmm, not too impressed by this month’s ipsy sampler. Reasons why will be after each item.

Elizabeth Mott All Over Shadow Brush (Retail $9.99)
I know I said I wasn’t impressed by this bag but I am always happy to have more brushes. I actually purchased that $20 brush set from the IpsyMe deal, though, so this one will be a spare to keep just in case.

La Fresh Eco-Beauty Be Good. Good Day. Day Moisturizer (Sample. $40 for full size)
This is the only other item I really liked from this bag. I really like the way the product is packaged. Any moisturizer you don’t use can just be saved for later.
[Edit] So it turns out that the La Fresh Group creams aren’t for me! Something in them caused an allergic reaction (I have no known allergies btw) and part of the lower half of my face got horribly dry and bumpy. It took weeks for it to finally clear up. I can only guess it was the La Fresh Group cream since it was the only new thing I introduced during that time. Too bad, I had to trash the sample!

Hikari Cosmetics Mechanical Eyeliner in Storm (Retail $13)
Here’s my problem with ipsy – you don’t get a chance to really rate why you dislike a product. I actually am a huge fan of liquid eyeliner but most pencil or cream liners just don’t work for me (I rate pencil liners poorly). The last thing I want is more pencil liners in black or dark gray.

Pacifica Natural Mineral Coconut Eye Shadow in Ethereal
I’ve gotten a similar color from ipsy before when it comes to Pacifica shadows. Don’t get me wrong, I love collecting eye shadows. I know ipsy needs to give samples of neutrals because they will generally please most subscribers. However, I’d love if they threw in a wild color once in a while. I’m not sure how good their packaging is, my last shadow actually cracked into pieces and I had to throw it out.

Probelle Into the Blue Nail Lacquer (Retail $6)
Nail polish is also hit or miss with ipsy. I love my nail polish collection but I think the colors ipsy offers are often really awful. This is probably my second or third bottle of blue nail polish from a Glam Bag. Initially, I’d always get excited with their polish samples. But once I tried them on, my opinions would change. I am selling this away!

Lastly, is it just me, or are most of the samples for this month repeats from past bags? While I wouldn’t mind an extra exfoliating mask, I’ve seen other ipsters complain about getting repeat products. I hope ipsy will be able to get more different brands this year. Randomly, I don’t know if this is an unpopular opinion or not but I was not a fan of the ipsy stylists this month. -_-

