Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

HERO COMPLEX Screening Series – THE HOBBIT: THE BATTLE OF THE FIVE ARMIES
The Los Angeles Times Hero Complex
Thursday, December 11, 2014 at 7:00 PM (EST)
New York, NY

Get ready, New Yorkers!  The Hero Complex Screening Series presents a free IMAX 3D preview ofTHE HOBBIT: THE BATTLE OF THE FIVE ARMIES, including post-movie Q & A with Orlando Bloom, Richard Armitage, Luke Evans and Lee Pace.   Screening will begin at 7:00 PM on Thursday, December 11th.

[information from The LA Times]

I was lucky enough to have the good timing (and wifi connection!) to get an RSVP for the above event. It was the first time I had even heard about the Hero Complex screening series but now I’ll pay attention for future opportunities. to be honest, I’m not actually an avid fan of the Hobbit series. In fact, I’ve never even seen the previous two films (and I’ve only ever seen the first Lord of the Rings). But my dad is a fan, so I considered this an early Christmas gift to him. Not only did we get to see this movie a week before it officially opens, it was in 3D at an IMAX theater. And each person got a free medium popcorn and drink!

I personally had a good interaction with the staff. I actually accidentally only RSVP-ed for 1 ticket because I misread the ticketing details. All I had to do was write a polite email to the staff handling the event, and I got a +1 like I intended.

My dad and I got to the theater around 5:10 or so and got our red wristbands and complimentary copy of the LAT Hero Complex magazine (Gandolf is on the cover for Fall 2014). As it turns out, our timing was quite good because the LAT tweeted at 5:40 that tickets were sold out. On the site, they said they’d start check-in at 5:30 but obviously they had to start earlier as there was a crowd inside the theater already

The organization was pretty poor but it wasn’t as bad as other patrons made it out to be. It seemed clear to me that the LAT and the theater weren’t on the same page as far as where to keep the guests. The fact that there were at least 3 other Hobbit screenings there made it even more chaotic. Before the movie even started, I saw:
– A man without a wristband claiming that the staff were racist for not letting him join the screening (note: not sure what screening he thought he’d get into but the one I was at was clearly labeled as first come, first serve. Also he may have been homeless and/or completely crazy cakes)
– New Yorkers blaming Californians for not knowing how to plan things
– A couple fighting with each other over the queue, and then not getting the desired seat in the theater

All I have to say is, if you’re going to be negative, only negative things will happen to you. Honestly, I felt super zen compared to most of those there. It may also have been because I lined up a lot for things in Japan, and if nothing else, the Japanese know how to create an organized, civilized queue.

The movie was entertaining and I think I’ll finally watch all the related movies I haven’t seen yet. Of note, Orlando Bloom and Luke Evans canceled their appearances the day before the screening. Had Orlando been there, I would’ve stayed for the Q&A. I know a lot of fans probably wouldn’t pass up the chance to see Lee Pace and Richard Armitage in person but… this is New York, you can see actors all the time. Also, the LAT will have video of the session soon.

The point is, my dad and I had a great time at the screening and I look forward to the next Hero Complex event (provided I get an RSVP!)

