Tags

, , , ,

I will be posting a setlist later after I confirm song titles. Along with a bunch of their hits, they sang parts of a few English language songs, including Bruno Mars’ “Marry You.”

This was the first Krowdpopped concert in New York City. KPOP UNITED is the company behind this Kickstarter-esque way of funding Kpop concerts outside of Korea (as far as I know, they’ve only tried to Krowdpop places in North America). I personally think this is a good way to get artists to America as I’ve heard that they don’t make a lot of money by coming to the states due to a number of reasons. Through this type of fundraising, they can at least guarantee breaking even. I did participate but only bought the cheapest tickets during the campaign ($50 upper balcony).

Though a wonderful idea, it was poorly executed. All tickets acquired through Krowdpop were will call only. It was later announced that, at a fee, you could have them mailed to your house. The tickets weren’t at the actual will call and were instead all given to several staff who really should have been given some kind of uniform or identifying mark. In the end, there was a lot of confusion because people were told to wait in the entrance line to get their tickets, only to be turned away at the entrance and told to go to will call. I can only hope the lines for VIP tickets were more organized. I won’t blame the staff, though, as this was the first time KPOP UNITED tried this sort of thing so they can learn from their mistakes. I am fairly forgiving because I know that no one is capable of out-organizing Japanese people (which is where most of my concert experience comes from). Despite that, they should have known that there would be somewhat of a melee in Times Square because American fangirls are thirsty.

Goods were sold through pre-sale (on KPOP UNITED) and at the venue. This is not a complete list as I didn’t bother looking at what was added for the venue: Light stick, poster, slogan, t-shirt.

There was a no photo policy but good luck with that! I saw the security guy on my side try a few times to get people to stop taking photos/video. From what I’ve noticed, they only ever try to stop seated people from taking photos as it’s impossible to do so in the mob of people in standing room. Also of interest, the balcony seats were not filled. The center block of seats were filled but the left and right wing seats were unevenly distributed with many gaps between guests. Before the start of the concert (which began half an hour late), most of the people in my section moved to the lower balcony to fill the empty seats. I would estimate that the wings (if properly filled) wouldn’t go past row H. The pit crowd seemed larger than both the U-KISS and CNBLUE ones.

This is the first proper report I’ve written regarding Kpop concerts in New York because my seat was so bad, I couldn’t justify taking too many videos (all the penlights in my eyeline!) and I was able to observe a lot more than usual.

Hope you enjoyed the show, Angels!

